My preferred photo of the month

Sorry! I know that this photo has nothing to do with the Uists ….but just imagine the place a few thousand years ago and maybe then you would have had wolves roaming through the now non existing forests. So take it maybe as “the Uists of long ago”?

I am passionate about wolves. When I was young I spent some long summer holidays working in a zoo and came to appreciate these highly intelligent, highly social and playful animals.

I have chosen this photo (out of an album in facebook by Jake Robertson) because it shows the excruciating pain this animal is going through and how obviously the person behind that trap doesn’t bother at all – if only he (maybe a she) can kill the animal and sell the pelt. 

Maybe – deep in our subconscious  – the wolf is still the enemy? It has to be destroyed, wiped out of our fauna?

In Italy (Abruzzi) they have found ways to let sheep and wolves exist in the same habitat with the help of especially trained “wolf dogs” who live all the year round with the sheep and protect them.  By this I don’t suggest that wolves should come and live in the Uists, smile! But I want to “speak wolf” and help protect them where they still have places to live.

About lorianapauli

Born in Italian speaking Ticino/Switzerland. Lived all my life in different parts of that very country till I found my way "home", where I truly belong > the 'Long Island'.
This entry was posted in Fauna, Nature, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

