WHY?

Why do the songs of the Gael….                                 Loriana Pauli

Why do the songs of the Gael
pain  my heart?
Why this longing when listening
to the unheard voices in the ruins,
to the untold tales of grief, of courage,
of hard labour,  losses, love?

Why do these  rain-and wind-battered shores
and peaty moors
give me a feeling of “home”,
when apricots and peaches,
grapes and sweet chestnuts
were the fruits of my childhood?

Why do people in my dreams
speak the Gaelic tongue,
when the first words
whispered to me by loved ones
were in the sweet language
of Dante, the poet?

Why are the landscapes of my childhood,
friendships of later years
and strings of blood
not calling me back
into a world I knew,
into the only one I was familiar with?

Why do the songs of the Gael
pain  my heart?
Why this longing when listening
to the unheard voices in the ruins?

About lorianapauli

Born in Italian speaking Ticino/Switzerland. Lived all my life in different parts of that very country till I found my way "home", where I truly belong > the 'Long Island'.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHY?

  1. Gordon Wells says:

    Bravo! Molto bene! 🙂

  2. direcleit says:

    Such a lovely poem, Loriana. 🙂

  3. lorianapauli says:

    Now, that was a surprise! Had to do some research to find out the mystery of direcleit.

Leave a Reply

